Three JHS players named to Shrine Bowl rosters

Three Jamestown High School players highlight the 2009 Shrine Bowl rosters.
Andy Lillejord, Robert Moos and Charles Regan have been chosen to play in the game, scheduled for July 18 at the Alerus Center in Grand Forks.
Lillejord was one of the top cornerbacks in the West Region in his senior season. The two-year starter also was one of the better punt returners in the conference..
Moos was a two-year starter at offensive tackle for the Blue Jays, helping them to 3,252 yards of total offense on the season and a 23.5-per game average. Moos also earned all-Region and all-state honors.
Regan led the Blue Jays in tackles and tackles-for-loss (9) and was second in sacks (2). He also carried the ball 49 times for 254 yards, earning all-region and all-state honors.
The three Blue Jays will play on the 11-man West team, along with four members of the Class A state champion Harvey Hornets.
Running back/linebacker Kordell Wolfe, headed to the University of Mary, heads the Hornets selected. He’s joined by teammates Bob Bartz, the 215-pound state wrestling champion, quarterback/linebacker Michael Leier and Jacob Goldade.
Jamestown College recruit Jacob Erbes of Richland was named to the 9-man East team as a receiver.
Valley City’s Derek Elliott and Nick Horner lead the East 11-man team. They’re joined by Linton-Hazelton-Moffit-Braddock’s Justin Purintun and Drew Moch. The Lions and Hi-Liners were the state runner-ups in Class AA and A, respectively.
Brent Durkin and Jordan Stenson were named to the East squad, along with Carrington’s Dusty Lyman and Darrin Kasowski of Maple Valley.
Eleven area 9-man players were named to the East roster, led by four Napoleon standouts.
Mary recruit Evan Gross leads the Imperial contingent. Gross won his third state wrestling title last weekend at 152 pounds. Teammates Damon Weigel, Cole Laber and Brady Fettig will also head to Grand Forks.
Oakes had two players chosen in Nick Jorgenson and Trey Peterson.
Other area players picked are Nate Arnold, Ellendale; Zach Feist, Edgeley-Kulm; Tyler Meidinger, South Border; Jaymes Six, Kidder County-Steele and Alex Vasichek, Dakota Prairie.
Jason Klusmann of South Border and Shawn Sagert of Oakes are on the East coaching staff.