DAC mess worsens

The Dakota Athletic Conference will soon be the DAC 4.

Dakota State, located in Madison, S.D., announced today it will leave the DAC next July and become an NAIA independent, leaving the former DAC 10 with just four schools – Jamestown College, Dickinson State, Valley City State and Mayville State – for the 2011-12 school year.

This also renders the DAC’s request for a waiver to the NAIA to allow the conference to maintain automatic qualifying status for NAIA national tournament with just five member institutions moot.

Little will change for the upcoming 2010-11 season. The DAC has eight schools for this year. But next year Minot State, South Dakota Mines and Black Hills State will be in various stages of moving to NCAA Division II, while Dakota State ventures out on its own.

The DAC’s decision to essentially kick Black Hills State and S.D. Mines out of the conference one year sooner than it needed to is what forced Dakota State’s hand.

Now the DAC is left in even a larger mess, partially of their own making.

2 thoughts on “DAC mess worsens

  1. None of the four has any money. I bet they stick together as a 4-team conference without automatic qualifying status into national tourneys.

Comments are closed.